Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2024
Local Audit and Accountability Act 2014 sections 26 and 27; the Accounts and Audit Regulations 2015 (SI2015/234).

Each year the smaller authority's Annual Governance and Accountability Return needs to be reviewed by an external auditor appointed by Smaller Authorities' Audit Appointments Ltd.  The unaudited AGAR has been published with this notice.  As it has yet to be reviewed by the appointed auditor, it is subject to change as a result of that review.

Any person interested has the opportunity to inspect and make copies of the accounting records for the financial year to which the audit relates and all books, deeds, contracts, bills, vouchers, receipts and other documents relating to those records must be available for inspection by any interested person. For the year ended 31 March 2024 these documents will be available by appointment with:

Cllr John Cowan, Temporary Clerk to the Council
Burton Village Hall, Northfield Lane, Highburton, Huddersfield HD8 0QT
Tel: 01484 604391    Email:  

Commencing on 1 July 2024 and ending on 9 August 2024.

Local Government electors and their representatives also have the opportunity to question the appointed auditor about the accounting records; and the right to make an objection which concerns a matter in respect of which the appointed auditor could either make a public interest report or apply to the court for a declaration that an item of account is unlawful.  Written notice of an objection must first be given to the auditor and a copy sent to Kirkburton Parish Council.

The auditor can be contacted at the address below for this purpose between the above dates only.

The body's AGAR is subject to review by the appointed auditor under the provisions of the local Audit and Accountability Act 2014, the Accounts and Audit Regulations 2015 and the NAO's Code of Audit Practice 2015.  The appointed auditor is: 

Littlejohn LLP, Ref: SBA, 2nd Floor, 1 Westferry Circus, Canary Wharf, London E14 4HD

This announcement is made by Cllr John Cowan, Temporary Clerk to the Council on 19 June 2024