Dog Wastebag Dispensers

Provision of free dog wastebagsDog Waste Bag Dispenser

A consultation on the practice to provide free dog wastebags has been undertaken following receipt of comments that these were no longer wanted.  The results of the consultation were considered at the February Parish Council meeting, when it was decided that the dispensers would be removed from the villages of:  Farnley Tyas, Flockton, Kirkburton, Kirkheaton, Shelley and Shepley  It was reported that the bags were helping with the problem in Grange Moor and Lepton; and that currently there was a particular problem in Stocksmoor and Thurstonland.  So the dispensers will remain in those 4 villages at the locations listed below. 

(LP = Lamp Post)  Please tie up tightly before putting the filled bags into the ordinary litter bins, which will be emptied on a regular schedule by Kirklees Council.

Grange Moor

LP2 Briestfield Road 

LP4 Back Lane by the children’s play park


LP35 Rowley Lane, by entrance to wood, above the school

LP60 Rowley Lane, by the church

LP15 Highgate Lane

Fields Road, at the entrance to the playing fields 

LP99 (behind the Doctor's surgery)


LP1 Cross Lane


LP2 The Green

Please encourage people to pick up after their dogs, and if you see anyone walking away from it, please report to the Kirklees Dog Warden Service.

Tel 01484 414739; Email .  People can be fined if there is a successful conviction. 

Councillors voluntarily fill up the dispensers on a fairly regular basis, but certain dispensers appear to be emptied completely almost as soon as they are filled.  Please remember, dog walkers should take their own bags with them, and use the Parish Council's as an emergency supply.  They are there for everyone, so don't take someone else's share.

Please don't abuse this free supply, and only take one when you need it. 


Grange Moor: Cllr Marjorie Wheelhouse,  Lascelles Hall & Lepton: Cllr Steve Beresford; Stocksmoor & Thurstonland: Cllr Robert Barraclough.    Their contact details are on the Contacts Page